The Award

The Inspired Leadership Award recognises emerging leaders driving positive change on a global scale.

The Performance Theatre’s mission is to inspire the leadership required to ‘reinvent growth’ – be it personal, commercial or economic.

In order to recognise and reward emerging leaders whose personal leadership has generated more sustainable, ethical and socially responsible business/organisational practices, we present the Inspired Leadership Award each year as part of the Theatre.

We look for individuals who are:

  • Purpose-driven – striving to create value for both their organisations and society at large
  • Bold – challenging the status quo and anticipating and driving change, rather than waiting for it
  • Outstanding performers – with the potential to achieve positive change on a global scale

Winners, short-listed nominees and alumni join the diverse and dynamic Performance Theatre community; many of these leaders have connected to mentors and collaborators at TPT – and continue to inspire us as they scale their ideas and impact.

Previous winners

  • Tarek Alsaleh, 2018

    Tarek Alsaleh founded ‘Capoeira4Refugees’ in Syria in 2007. It runs sport, music and play projects in prisons, with refugees, and in safe houses for vulnerable women and girls. Since then, he has gone on to support over 60,000 refugees, across the Middle East and beyond. Uniquely, the projects he started are now locally owned, creating new jobs and youth leadership. He also heads FrontlineAid, which uses innovation, tech and sustainable development thinking to realise change at the local level. Using his decade of experience working directly with local people in war and conflict zones, Tarek aims to truly localise aid.

  • Dr Nthabiseng Legoete, 2017

    Dr Nthabiseng Legoete is founder of Quali Health and is a medical practitioner passionate about improving access to primary healthcare. She has a vision that to make quality primary healthcare affordable for all citizens in emerging markets. She founded Quail Health in May 2016, providing affordable, high-quality healthcare services to the disenfranchised communities of South Africa. Quali’s network of clinics currently services 500 patients a day. Nthabiseng has spent the last 10 years navigating the private health sector: firstly as a medical advisor and product manager in the pharmaceutical division of Roche products, and also as a partner in a medical practice that manages three emergency units in South Africa, where her primary role was that of clinical director. Watch the BBC World News team announce Dr Legoete as the 2017 Inspired Leadership Award winner, here.

  • Arunachalam Muruganantham, 2016

    Arunachalam Muruganantham is a social entrepreneur from Coimbatore in Tamil Nadu, India. He invented a low-cost sanitary pad-making machine and has innovated grass-roots mechanisms for generating awareness about traditional unhygienic practices around menstruation in rural India. His motivation for inventing the machine was to help poor women live with dignity. His mini-machines – which can manufacture sanitary pads for less than a third of the cost of commercial pads – had, at the time of his win, been installed in 23 of the 29 states of India and have created livelihoods for thousands of women. In 2014, TIME magazine placed him in its list of 100 Most Influential People in the World. And it was for all these reasons and more that he won the 2016 Award.

  • Jeremy Heimans, 2015

    The 2015 Award went to Jeremy Heimans, co-founder and CEO of Purpose, which builds 21st century movements and ventures that use the power of participation to change the world. He said upon accepting the award: “I’m honoured to have been awarded this prize amongst a cohort of fantastic and innovative nominees. The scale and complexity of challenges facing the world today – from climate change to LGBT rights – demand a new type of leadership. At Purpose, we’re building movements and new crowd-based social and economic models to tackle some of these global problems, and we’re working with organisations to put purpose at the core of what they do.”